Domain into ip tool What are you not allowed to eat during Lent diet? | Easter Day

What are you not allowed to eat during Lent?

meat-on-Fridays

Lent Diet:

As each Christian church follows different rules, there is not a universal Lent Diet. Orthodox Christians still give up both meat and dairy products for Lent. Remember that the idea of fasting is to exert self control. Self control is absolutely vital when you are trying to lose weight. However, most generally follow these lent diet rules:

  • No chocolate
  • No cakes
  • No cookies
  • No soda
  • Nothing made from sugar, no sweet breads, pastries or candy
  • Eat no luxury foods – avoiding meat while eating lobsters and smoked salmon misses the point of Lent!
  • No alcohol
  • No cream or ice-cream

When Is Lent?

Lent starts on Ash Wednesday and represents the 40 days that Jesus spent in the wilderness. The period ends at Easter on Holy Saturday, so the start date for Lent is different each year. Easter Sunday is always the first Sunday that follows first New Moon that follows the Spring Equinox. So Lent starts 6 weeks before Easter.Some Christian churches actually calculate Lent differently from one and other but we will not go into the calender here.

Many people just chose some things to give up for Lent. If you enjoy chocolate or alcohol, then these are things you should give up during Lent.

The idea was that these foods increased seminal matter and therefore Lust, which is one of the tempations / sins to be avoided. In the Roman Catholic Church people would abstain from just meat and poultry on Ash Wednesday and every Friday during Lent. Dairy, eggs and fish would still be eaten.

For many people Lent is a time to not only abstain from certain foods but also an opportunity to lose some weight that was gained during the Christmas period. So, what should you avoid during Lent, and what can you eat?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*